Kubrick and the Symmetrical Cinematographers

This summer I watched Stanley Kubrick’s “The Shining” for the very first time.

Even though it’s a horror film––a genre I must have a good reason to watch–– I can’t believe I waited so long to see it.

Stunning sets. Continuous shots from the POV of a child pedaling a Big Wheel through a hotel. Perfectly symmetrical cinematography. It’s a masterpiece of viscera and fantasy.

Some art critics say that cinema, which hardly existed 100 years ago, will go down as our generation’s greatest contribution to artistic expression.

Inspired by the ambience I saw in “The Shining,” I set out with Elvis (my Nikon) looking for visual parallelisms, and the best I could do was this. Paltry, but still one of the better pictures I’ve taken.

I do not understand the draw of clean lines or the gravitation I feel toward visual balance, but thanks to Stanley Kubrick, I have a way to express how these things captivate my attention.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What movies have you watched that feature eye-popping cinematography? What are your thoughts on how cinema changes the way viewers express themselves?

Indy

 

© IndyInk and Grits and Bottle Rockets, 2010-2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of text or images without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to IndyInk with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “Kubrick and the Symmetrical Cinematographers

  1. crystalmcdaniel says:

    Dear Indy,
    Great blog! I have also seen many comments elsewhere about your writing. You are building a fan club! Yea! My son is going into filmmaking, I will point this blog out to him. He will certainly enjoy it. I have been attempting to contact you. My computer crashed, and I lost all my contacts. As soon as you can, please write me so that I can make sure I have your correct information.

    Once again, great photo, and great blog!

Leave a Reply

