Tweets From The Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show

I screen-captured several Tweets about tonight’s Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show.

I’ll let them speak for themselves. These Tweets came from a mix of men (about a third) and women (about two-thirds).

For the record, I dream of a world where people stop cutting themselves down, and are truthful and kind to themselves instead. Imagine how wonderful that would be.

*Update: thanks to all who are reading Grits and Bottle Rockets because of this article at Beautyredefined.net: http://www.beautyredefined.net/victorias-secret-war-on-women/

Image


Image
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Image


Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.23.35 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.23.59 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.24.21 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.25.27 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.27.35 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.25.50 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.27.48 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.28.05 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.28.38 AM Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.29.21 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.33.43 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.34.49 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.30.06 AM

Screen shot 2013-12-11 at 12.30.38 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s why I started Don’t Compare Yourself to Celebrities, a Pinterest board dedicated to mythbusting the messages in advertising.

Follow Don’t Compare Yourself to Celebrities on Pinterest.

29 thoughts on “Tweets From The Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show

  1. girlychristina says:

    LMAO!! These are great!! Thank you for sharing these, I was definitely like Little Honey Boo Boo feeling my tummy when watching the VS Fashion Show tonight. I was also eating chocolate chip cookies. =)
    And yes, the girls workout, however they were born with those long legs, torsos, and inability to get fat-gene. So, good for them, lucky b8tches!!! lol.

  2. Curves a la mode says:

    The only thing I find that irks me a little is the fact that most of the men basically feel that if you don’t look like a VS model then you’re failing at something. I mean really? Are we to demand them to look like George Clooney or Idris Elba?
    And I agree with Christina, the ladies WERE born to model, but what’s with women knocking themselves down because they don’t look like an “Angel”, Angels don’t look like Angels in the street. Remember this is a fashion show created to sell you a product (lingerie) the girls are lovely but they are beautified to the max in order to sell VS lingerie.

    • Robert says:

      You are literally categorizing and blaming an entire issue on the entire male gender. If you can’t see how ridiculous that is, then I can’t help you

      • Curves a la mode says:

        Actually I am not, since my comment only pertains to the tweets that have been included in this post. So thank you, but I don’t need YOUR help and please be respectful since we are all adults.
        We have to learn to express ourselves (even when we have different views) without being condescending.

        • Tim says:

          Honestly Curves, your original post bothered me too because you didn’t specify that it was the men from the tweets above only. You only said “the men”. You have to be careful how you write something, and when you are called out for unintentionally generalizing a gender you need to clarify it. You don’t need to get angry at the person who pointed it out.

          • LilyM says:

            Are you kidding me right now? This is what you’re taking out of this? We live in a society where an event like this is broadcast on basic cable and can be accessed by millions of impressionable young girls who will come away from it feeling as if that is the only acceptable body type, and yet you’re worried that a woman being upset about the unfair standards men have is “generalizing” too much and hurting your poor wittle male feelings? This is not about you. She was not saying, “Ugh I hate when every single individual man who has ever existed tells me I’m worthless for not looking like a VS model,” she was saying that men tend to have unrealistic expectations of women that are not applied to themselves. She was saying that society – a society that inherently favors men, by the way – places these expectations on women. She was referring to the systematic aspect, not the individual.It is not a personal attack. Regardless, you need to seriously step back and reexamine yourself if you think someone making “generalizations” about male privilege is more serious than the constant bombardment of this same image of women in the media over and over again. Moreover, if this were a show about muscular men prancing around in speedos, people would lose their minds but we’ve become desensitized to this sort of thing with regard to female representation in the media, and that is not okay.

          • Curves a la mode says:

            I did clarify Tim, and of course I don’t mind being questioned that’s the only way we fix misunderstandings. I just don’t appreciate name calling.
            You expressed yourself perfectly and were not disrespectful. By all means I’m sorry if that’s how the reply came of, but no I would never generalize all men that’s unfair. My reply was only directed toward the particular tweets posted that’s all.

  3. Leah K. says:

    Thanks for sharing this! I’ve been following you on Pinterest, and you always share such interesting things related to the beauty ideal. I figured you would have something to say about the VS Fashion Show. I think showcasing the tweets really emphasizes how strong the beauty ideal is for controlling women’s bodies. It’s not luck or genes that makes those women beautiful. Beauty is a social construction. I couldn’t even stomach to get on any sort of social media last night, knowing that a majority of women echo the same thoughts you’ve shown here.

    • Kayla says:

      There are tons of schools out there that don’t have any counselors at all. That was how my high school was and I graduated last year. It’s sad how little support odd out the for girls. I still believe all the lies I’ve been told about my body and know that I will honestly never be happy with it, but that’s just life as it for, what I feel, the majority of women that I know or have come in contact with.

  4. Gwyn says:

    I second Karen S. and the sadness of it all. And no, what you see is not the result of working out and lucky genetics. It’s about drugs, periods of dangerous fasting coming up to the show (look up Adriana Lima’s pre-show — “It’s not that I do crazy diets throughout the year. I just do it for this particular thing.”) and an industry that is barely distinguishable from the international sex slavery trade.

  5. Elonwy says:

    I forget sometimes how other women feel about themselves. What a shame. I have my own body imperfections – some cellulite and tummy rolls but when I watched the show all I could think was, ohhh cute undies!

    My theory is that if a guy is lucky enough to get me naked he better just be happy to see every inch of me, even if there are a few extra inches here and there.

  6. dcoore says:

    Thank you for sharing this. Seeing other peoples perspectives from referring to the models as “skinny bitches”, to women joking [I hope?] about their negative body image, is very sobering. I’m lucky to have many smart, confident women in my life who see more to themselves and their peers than weight and looks, that sometimes I forget why it’s still important to share stories and speak up on topics like Victoria Secret and the fashion industry in general.

  7. Scott RJ says:

    Thanks for showing us this- some of these tweets were meant to be funny I’m sure, but seeing them all together makes me really sad! Honestly, the lighting, the make-up, the bronzer- makes these models looks especially good- they have professionals dressing them up! Plus, it’s their job to look a certain way. No need to put these models down. The need is to celebrate all of our bodies- if I ever have daughters, my approach will never, ever, to put models down, nor put women down who don’t look like models.

  8. Sherry says:

    If the only thing that matters to you is what you see with your eyes, then you will never understand what truely matters…

    This is a sad state of affairs.

  9. Lauren says:

    I think I must have unusually high self esteem because I looked at myself in the mirror after watching the show and didn’t have any self loathe or any desire to change any part of my body.

    I have a shorter curvier body & I loved the show.

    I love my body because of what it does for me and I think more of us need to be thankful for the body we have because we are all unique and beautiful.

  10. rjbuhr says:

    Thanks so much for finding me and liking my post! I was so inspired by your Pinterest and am glad to see you also have a blog. Am very proud of the work you do reminding women to love their natural bodies.

    Reba

  11. 86Wilbert says:

    I see you don’t monetize your site, don’t waste your traffic, you can earn additional bucks every month because you’ve got hi
    quality content. If you want to know how to make extra $$$,
    search for: best adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools

Leave a Reply

